LOCAL GOVERNMENT OF CANADA.

is not the least of the advantages of the municipal systems of Canada. They furnish a rich fund of talent and experience upon which to draw

for the wider spheres of provincial and federal legislation.

Judiciary.—The provincial courts consist of (1) the supreme court, which is a court of appeal and also a circuit court, and (2) county courts. The supreme court consists of a chief justice and six other judges. One of these is a judge in equity, who also acts in divorce causes and as admiralty judge of the exchequer court of Canada. This court has original jurisdiction in all matters not specially delegated to the lower courts and appeal jurisdiction from the county courts. The county courts have a limited original jurisdiction and an appeal jurisdiction from probate and magistrates' courts in certain cases. The judges of this court are seven in number, each having a district of jurisdiction covering a county or group of counties and holding terms of court in the county towns of their respective districts.

The judges of the supreme and county courts are appointed and paid by the Dominion Government, but the procedure of the courts in all civil matters is regulated by provincial legislation. The purely provincial courts and courts of probate have jurisdiction over wills and intestate estates. Stipendiary and police magistrates' courts and courts of justices of the peace are also under provincial jurisdiction. The judges of these courts and justices of the peace are appointed by the local government and are paid, in some cases by salaries and in others by fees. The sheriffs, clerks, registrars and officers of all the

courts are appointed by the provincial authorities.

In criminal cases the jurisdiction and procedure of all the courts are fixed by federal statutes. The procedure as to the selection of grand and petit jurors, of revisers of voters' lists and assessment courts are fixed by the provincial statutes. In each county, and in some counties in one or more districts of a county, are offices for the registry of deeds and of all documents pertaining to transfers of or affecting titles to real estate as well as those creating and discharging liens on personal property.

NEW BRUNSWICK.



THE province of New Brunswick in all essential features of provincial administration is similar to its neighbour, Nova Scotia, but some differences may be noted. The province entered Confederation with a Legislative Council of 40 members holding their seats for life, a Legislative Assembly of 40 members and an Executive Council of nine members. Under its powers of changing the provincial constitution the Legislative Council was abolished by an act passed on April 16, 1891. For many years an agitation for its abolition had continued, and the govern-

ments of the period refrained from filling vacancies until the number of members was so reduced that the passage of an abolition act became